top of page

Chiang Mai University

Being a CMU student is pretty cool. The campus is huge but there is a free bus shuttle service! There are about 32,000 students (almost the same as UK, so it's not too different in that aspect). We do have to wear uniforms, a white button up shirt and a black skirt:

I have class every weekday from 1:30-4:30 pm in the College of Law building. I'm taking a Southeast Asian Art History class, which is great because I get to see so much of it out and around town. There is art everywhere in Chiang Mai, specifically religious art in sculpture and architecture. The class so far has taught me a lot about Buddhist beliefs which is integral to understanding the art here. I'm loving the content and hope I can take a class on Asian art back at UK to finish my minor! Oh, and there are only four of us in the class.

The building my classes are in:

Taking the shuttle to class from the dorms:

Walking by the university from the main road (soi suthep):

The CMU crest:


bottom of page